The 7 Chakras

Blog The 7 Chakras Power Flow Yoga

Chakra is Sanskrit for spinning wheel, vortex or disc. They are the 7 basic energy centers in the body, each correlating to the major nerve ganglia (plexus) branching from the spinal column and operates as a pump or valve for regulating Pranic life force energy through the body. Each Chakra can be associated with particular parts of the body and functions within the body. They are linked in a line along the spine and effect each other greatly. The Chakras are aspects of consciousness, and represented as a multi-petalled flower containing the energy of the soul linked to the higher self.



The 1st Chakra is the Base or Root Chakra (survival). Our physical identity with a primary focus of self-preservation. Located at the base of the spine, this chakra forms our foundation. It is related to our survival instincts: food – shelter – our sense of grounding – connection to our physical bodies and the physical plane.

Colour: Red
Element: Earth
Sense: Smell
Body Parts: Legs, feet, bones, large intestine & teeth
Disorders: Weight problems, hemorrhoids, constipation, sciatica, arthritis & knee problems
Bija Mantra: LAM

When balanced: Can take care of own needs – Good sense of Identity – Self-sufficient – Confident – Abundant – Trusts that the universe will provide

When too closed: A victim – blames others – Paralysed by fear – Low self-esteem – Lacks vitality – Unstable – Idealistic – Needy

When too open: Consumer – excessive – workaholic



The 2nd Chakra is the Sacral Chakra (sweetness). Our emotional identity with a primary focus of self-gratification. Located around the abdomen, lower back and sexual organs. It is related to our emotions and sexuality helping us to connect with others through: – feeling – desire – sensation – sexuality – movement – pleasure.

Colour: Orange
Element:  Water
Sense: Taste
Body Parts: Womb, genitals, kidneys, bladder, circulatory system
Disorders: Impotence, frigidity, bladder/kidney problems, stiff lower back
Bija Mantra: VAM

When balanced: Emperor – Wellbeing for all – Creates/shares abundance – Sense of fluidity and grace – Depth of feeling – Sexual fulfillment – Capacity to accept change.

When too closed: Forsakes happiness for others – Can’t accept pleasure – Not sexually satisfied.

When too open: Pleasure for pleasures sake – Self-obsessed – Puts themselves 1st.



The 3rd Chakra is the Solar plexus Chakra (power). Our ego Identity with a primary focus of self-definition. Located in the solar plexus, it is related to our personal power, will, autonomy & metabolism. It brings us: energy – effectiveness – spontaneity – non-dominating power.

Colour: Yellow
Element: Fire
Sense: Sight
Body Parts: Digestive system & muscles
Disorders: Ulcers, diabetes, hypoglycemia, digestive disorders
Bija Mantra: RAM

When balanced: Warrior – Strength – Open to change -Good self-esteem – Strong willed – Chooses battles wisely

When too closed: Servant – Self-evaluation – Obedient – Needs recognition – Seeks approval

When too open: Dictator – Impatient – Controlling – Well organized – Obsessive compulsive disorder – Judgmental – Easily angered



The 4th Chakra is the Heart Chakra (compassion & love). Our social identity with a primary focus of self-acceptance. This is the middle chakra located at the heart and rules our center for love. It’s the integrator of opposites in the psyche, this being personal effects like – mind and body – male and female – ego and unity. This allows us to love deeply ourselves and others, understand and feel compassion and helps develop a deep sense of peace and centeredness.

Colour: Green
Element: Air
Sense: Touch
Body Parts: Lungs, heart, pericardium (fascia around the heart), arms, hands
Disorders: Asthma, high blood pressure, heart & lung disease, jealousy, drama
Bija Mantra: YAM

When balanced: Lover – Open – Can commit – Gives freedom – Love & acceptance

Wen too closed: Timid – Fear – Shy – Doesn’t deserve love – Defensive

When too open: Actor – Dramatic emotions – Shallow love affairs – Possessive – Controlling



The 5th Chakra is the Throat Chakra (creativity). Our creative identity with a primary focus of self-expression. Located in the throat, it is related to: – communication – creativity of expression – the voice. It is at this center that we experience the world symbolically through vibration, such as the vibration of sound representing language.

Colour: Blue
Element: Ether
Sense:  Hearing / sound (vibration)
Body Parts: Ears, throat, neck, shoulders, arms, hands
Disorders: Sore throat, stiff neck, colds, thyroid & hearing problems
Bija Mantra: HAM

When balanced: Communicator – Integrity – In-touch with emotions – Honest – No guilt – Thinks before speaking

When too closed: Quiet – Emotionally repressed – Incapable of expression – Doesn’t cry easily

When too open: Addict – Talks a lot – Arrogant – Dogmatic – Deluded – Prone to exaggeration



The 6th Chakra is the Brow Chakra or third eye center (psychic faculties). The supreme identity with a primary focus of self-reflection. Located in the forehead, in between our eyes, it is related to: the act of seeing, both physically & intuitively. Awareness of this Chakra opens our psychic faculties and our understanding of supreme levels. It helps us see clearly, in effect letting us see ‘the bigger picture’.

Colour: Indigo
Element:  Light, telepathic energy
Sense: Intuition, sixth sense (psychic)
Body Parts: Skull, head, eyes
Disorders: Blindness, headache, nightmares, eyestrain, blurred vision
Bija Mantra: OM

When balanced: Intuitive – Spiritual – Physical & mental wellbeing – Perceptive – Inner wisdom

When too closed: Lac of discipline – Fear of success – low goals

When too open: Arrogance – Dogmatic – Does not trust his/her own intuition



The 7th Chakra is the Crown Chakra (pure awareness). The universal identity with a primary focus of self-knowledge. Located at the crown of the head, it is related to consciousness as pure awareness. It is our connection to the greater world beyond, to a timeless dimension of all knowing. When developed brings divine knowledge, wisdom, understanding, spiritual connection and bliss.

Colour: Violet to white
Element: Thought / cosmic energy
Sense: Beyond the self, the witness
Body Parts: Cerebral cortex, central nervous system
Disorders:  Depression, alienation, confusion, boredom, apathy, inability to learn
Bija Mantra: OM

When balanced: Wise – Connected to their spirituality – Great level of understanding – Abundant

When too closed: Atheist – Empty – Will not accept help – Self Sufficient – Lacks fulfillment

When too open: Narcissist – Vain – Ungrateful – Psychotic – Enjoys everything in their control[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row]

By Paul Selvey

Paul has practised Yoga for over two decades and taught Yoga full time for 8 years. With 1000+ hours of advanced teacher training he shapes a mix of movement, breathing, kriya, sound therapy and meditation techniques to suit his students, from beginner to advanced.

Related articles